More on Making Maps

10 Jan

After a weeks hiatus I am back to making maps, and I am getting better at it … or at least have found better tools.

Screen Shot 2013-01-10 at 10.17.36 AM
The two previous maps I had made, of Idle No More events in 2012, and a map of blockades, were made using Google Maps. I went in an manually put a marker on each location on the map. Sometime it would take a few minutes of searching to find out where each location on the map was located, and cut and paste the relevant information into the text box.
Early on in making the map people suggested I begin working with Google’s Fusion Tables. It took me a little while to get the hang of it, but I have discovered it is a much more powerful map making tool.
I was able to take a spreadsheet of all the Idle No More event of #J11 and with a bit of formatting upload it into Fusion Tables. One of the columns was called location, and I set it to create a map of those locations, and a few minutes later I had created a map of the #J11 events. It only took me about 20 minutes to create the whole thing.
There are some glitches with the map that I am still trying to figure out. For example in the spread sheet the Idle No More event taking place in Puerto Rico listed its location as “Boricua Nation”, but the event did not appear on the map. I am still trying to figure out how many locations did not get recognized and how to add them.
I will be updating the map with new information so if you have an event planned on January 11th you can add it the spreadsheet and I will update it once a day for the next few days.
I have been day dreaming about what other sorts of mapping projects are possible, and what I would really like to build is an animate map of all the idle no more events over time. I would require a bunch of volouteer to help with entering the dates of the events and the assistance of some mapping experts.
Does anyone know how this map of IED’s in Afghanistan, (based on data released by wikileaks) was created? If so would you want to collaborate on making a map of the idle no more locations over time?
 
If you have these expertise or  have no expertise but want to volounteer a couple hours to helping out please get in touch. timgrovesreports [a-t] gmail . com
One Response to “More on Making Maps”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Infographic and Maps « Tim Groves Reports - January 10, 2013

    [...] I wanted to do a post to highlight some of the Info-Graphics and maps I have worked on before creating a series of Idle No More maps. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

